Government Information

The Chamber is dedicated to improving the quality of the business environment across Northeast Michigan and achieves their legislative goals through advocacy and a partnership with the Northern Michigan Chamber Alliance

Government Relations Committee

Lee Fitzpatrick – Alpena Public Schools
Jim Klarich – Alpena Area Chamber of Commerce
Jackie Krawczak – Alpena Area Chamber of Commerce
Jim Makowske – Laser Team Challenge
Jerry Plohocky – The Home Depot
Dennis Schultz – Timm Construction
Jerry Tracey – mBank

2019 Government Relations Agenda and Guiding Themes

Contact the Chamber’s Government Relations Employee – Kent Wood at

2019 NMCA Pillars of Prosperity

Write your Legislators:

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich.
133 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
phone: 202.224.4822
fax: 202.224.8834

U.S. Senator Gary Peters, D-Mich.
1609 Longworth HOB
Washington, D.C.  20515
Phone: 202.225.5802
Fax: 202.226.2356

U.S. Congressman Jack Bergman
1st District of Michigan
414 Canon HOB
Washington, D.C.  20515
phone: 202.225.4735
fax: 202.225.4744

State Senator Jim Stamas
36th District
P.O. Box 30036
Lansing, MI  48909
phone: 517.373.1791
fax: 517.373.2678

State Representative Sue Allor
106th District
S-1485 House Office Building
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI  48909-7514
phone: 517.373.0833
fax: 517.373.8446

General Public Information

Click here to view website.

Alpena City Council Members – Click on name for contact information.

Mayor Matt Waligora

Councilwoman Cindy Johnson – Mayor Pro Tem

Councilwoman Susan Nielsen

Councilman Mike Nowak

Councilwoman Amber Hess


Alpena County

Click here to view website.

Alpena County Commissioners 

District #1 – Brad McRoberts

District #2 – Robert Adrian

District #3 – Dave Karschnick, Sr.

District #4 – Bill Peterson

District #5 – Brenda Fournier

District #6 – Ronald McDonald

District #7 – Marty Thomson

District #8 – Jeff Kozlowski


Alpena Township

Click here to view website.

Nathan Skibbe – Supervisor
Michele Palevich – Clerk
Laura Ellery-Somers – Treasurer
Matt Dunckel – Trustee
Cash Kroll – Trustee
Steve Lappan – Trustee
Norm Poli – Trustee